The Nanny Interviews Complete

I have to go into these interviews with my family in mind.  What personalities will mesh best with my kiddos, but will also actually offer help around the house.  It’s a delicate subject and should not be taken lightly.  The pickins’ were slim this week…

My first interview…

was pushed back to Saturday morning.  We met at a Starbucks, and of my interviews it was the one I was most excited about (which in retail I learned was not always the most promising candidate).  As I walked in I ordered my decaf latte (just for fun) and found a little two seater table in the back corner of the coffee shop.  I realized upon sitting that I had not contacted her with a way of recognizing me, and so I watched each person that came in to check for a face that resembled the profile picture.  A girl resembling her picture stood at the cream and sugar stand and without looking up said, “Jess” at a decently loud volume.  I looked up and she looked over and smiled, then said, “Jess?”  I nodded and we both laughed, I loved how outgoing she was, how go getter she was, and how very much we had in common.  We were both thespians in high school, and both held a degree in education that we chose not to put to their intended use.  She has made a career in the field of restaurants, just as I made a career in retail.

She brought in a physical journal, not a phone, not a computer, but an actual honest to goodness tangible book with binding.  In it she had listed three pages of questions about my children, their habits, our wants, our needs, and pay.  She had experience, she expressed ideas when I discussed B’s speech struggles, she even took note that Aislyn’s favorite character was Minnie Mouse.  She gave me examples of structure she had in place with a young boy she had cared for before.  The connection was a live one, and knowing I had yet another interview to go, it was difficult for me to not just jump up and perform a dance with glee singing, “you have the job, please please, yes!”

My Second Interview…

asked me to meet at a local coffee joint downtown.  Aislyn was with me for this one, which I knew would be difficult so I ordered her a blueberry bagel and brought a sippy cup full of water, along with a bag with a book and a few dolls to keep her occupied.  The potential candidate #2 was on time, but would not enter the coffee shop as there was a duck next to the doorway that she was too afraid to walk past.  Finally a lady at the table next to me got up and opened the door to scare off the duck so she could come in.  She sat with us and was followed in by her sister, brother in law, and their toddler.  They sat at a neighboring table and watched us, which was incredibly awkward for me.

Her major was biology, and her experience was church nurseries (not a bad start, that was my own).  She gave me a story of the worst experience she had ever had babysitting; a huge interviewing no-no in my personal opinion, unless asked of you never talk negatively about past work experiences.  She told me this child was a terror, ‘like something out of Home Alone’ were her exact words.  Finally after all the build up she explained that this two year old boy had torn up his food and thrown it on the floor, and then with the help of his sister picked it up when asked.  ‘Pump the breaks,’ I thought as Aislyn started ripping apart her bagel so eventually she could start throwing it on the ground, which is a common ritual of hers.

The potential nanny then interrupted the interview to read Aislyn the book I had offered as a distraction while we pursued our interview, despite my protest to let her read it on her own.  She handed Aislyn the deck of cards on the table left by the coffee shop owners for their older patrons, and once again I protested, and actually removed the cards from her hand.  I’m not spending this interview playing 52 card pick up.  “I’m always told my biggest weakness is that I’m too nice, I don’t like to tell kids no,” and with that the interview was conveniently over.

Applicant #3

This one didn’t even receive an opportunity for an interview.  My job ad stated that it would be a part time position over the course of the summer.  This applicant emailed me personally stating that if I wanted to hire her I would have to offer 20 dollars an hour and a full time guaranteed position that will last at least two years.  For overnight stays I was to pay her an additional 5 dollars an hour (while the kids are sleeping mind you).  I was aghast, absolutely appalled!

My thoughts behind the pay scale.  That’s what I pay my babysitters, because I want to make the time they had to take out of their day worthwhile.  And at the 9 dollars an hour most my babysitters ask for, I feel terrible giving them less than 20 dollars for taking out a chunk from the middle of their day.  For a full time guaranteed position we are looking at paying 9-10  dollars because it is a career, it is constant, and that will add up to be a decent pay check to work less than half days and get weekends off.  20 dollars full time would be the equivalent of $41,600, that is more than I made as a district manager over 13 stores and personally responsible for the jobs of at least 100 individuals on just a household salary?!  Do they consider that?  As a teacher I would make $35,000 a year where I taught.  These are jobs I worked required years of working up the ladder, these are jobs that require a background of some sort of college level education.  I felt sick to my stomach reading this response and let her know she was far out of our price range, and that the job description was not for a full time nanny anyway.  I tried to be polite about it, but that was sooooo incredibly difficult!

The Winner is…

Do I really need to say it?  She starts in April, 3 days a week, aside from next Monday when she comes to help me prep B’s room for his arrival next week!!!

Leave a Reply

