If We Were Having Coffee…Stepmother to Birthmother Edition

Sometimes I often sit and wonder, wonder and think…

What would it be like if B’s mom and I were to meet?

I sometimes picture us sitting as two people bumping into one another at a cafe and I think…if we were having coffee…

If we were having coffee I would let you know fist and foremost I never hated you, but many times agreed with you.  There were times in the fights and the tales of your past that I would giggle at the dramatics of our common spouse and say, “well I can understand her side.”

If we were having coffee I would tell you how loved your son is not only by me but my entire family.  I would assure you that we never look to replace you or your family, but instead only long to be an extension to it, just like we are to so many.

If we were having coffee I would want to know all about your interests and hobbies.  Your past times and beliefs.  It is not only something I feel would bring us to see eye to eye, but also help me to better help raise our B.

If we were having coffee I would want you to understand that it was never my intent to hurt you.  You were as much of a surprise to me as I was to you.  My life plans did not have you in it, I know in turn your plans did not include me.

If we were having coffee I would hope that as adults we could air out our concerns, pushing the past like rushing waters under the bridge.  I would hope that we could discover forgiveness and peace from the outpour and be able to leave the shoppe together hand in hand as co-parents and no longer opposing forces.

This post featured on:

evry-day-mom-badge

6 Comments Add yours

  1. lisakunk says:

    That’s a lovely piece. I like the way you think. I’m looking forward to reading more of your various posts. And thanks for stopping by my little collection of life stories and beyond.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. autumnhm says:

    As a step-mother myself I love this post. Yes, our life plans did not include each other but we ended up in each other’s lives. Great post!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Toddler_Mama says:

    I have a step-mom who I love very much, and a mother who I love very much. Took a long time for them to allow and understand this, but as a “grown-up” I sure do appreciate having both. Nice post.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. April says:

    I love your perspective on this!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

