Thursday Doors

Why such a fascination with doors?  Perhaps that they are portals to somewhere unseen, or the portal you hold to something you keep secret?  Even the word portal just adds this whimsical wonder to anything you happen to be reading or typing…sends goosebumps up my arms…These doors I titled the four portals to nowhere.

I took this photo in the fall of 2009 when I seemed to have several portals that could ultimately lead to some unexpected sort of downfall upon stepping through them. The doors of my divorce, the end of my college era, a move away from my home for the past 5 years, and my unplanned and unwanted career path. In the seven years since life has turned out far greater than planned, when I exited each of those doors I did not fall but learn to fly independently, and it was amazing.

  • I was able to survive without my husband with the company of my best friend and roommate.
  • Graduating from college was not as terrible as thought, though I do miss those daily offerings of institutional knowledge.
  • Moving away from home allowed for an entire new era of adventure…I have moved four times over since then, who would have ever seen me living in Alabama?
  • And my career lead me to one giant career leap and promotion after another until I had my first beautiful daughter who now hogs all of my time.

There are doors in life that will be scary to open, but we can’t hide behind them or we will never live.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. I like the doors but would love to know what type of building they are on. 🙂 Yes, doors open and close through life’s journey and you just have to embrace each one.

    Like

  2. As you can tell by my user name, I have an obsession with doors! Love your image and the analogy to various events in your life!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. When one door closes, another one opens. That saying is true and in your case, it sounds as though you’re finding some great things on the other side of at least some of them.

    janet

    Like

    1. ah yes, years since and I have an amazing husband, two amazing daughters, and one spectacular stepson, living on the mountainside in and amazing community in Alabama with many friends!

      Like

  4. Norm 2.0 says:

    An interesting perspective. Thank you for joining us this week 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

