Geography Day One: Maps

Over this summer I am homeschooling not only my three year old daughter, but also my step-son.   This is a 5 day long project that could be extended to 8 or 9.   I had to constrain it due to my filled Summer Schedule.  First off I stole..hmmmmph I mean borrowed this amazing template and idea for free from here.

Day One:  My Home

Objectives:

  • Student will locate places using the four cardinal directions;
  • Student will describe the location of self and objects relative to other locations in the classroom and school.

After circle time I had the kids sit around to discuss the concept of Maps.  I had purchased a three dollar felt map of the United States from Target, and hung it up on the bulletin board front and center to the room.  I then printed out images of their favorite characters and people:

  • Daniel Tiger
  • Captain America
  • Lightening McQueen
  • Mickey Mouse
  • A horse (to symbolize their Gigi).

To start I asked the kids what they knew about maps.  I received answers about treasures from my daughter, and far more factual information from B.  We discussed the compass rose, and other various terms of the map.  I then presented a list of vocabulary words that we would continuously review for the week:

  • East
  • West
  • North
  • South
  • Ocean
  • Land
  • Gulf
  • Beach
  • Map

Using a light saber I had the kids point to the town they thought each character was from.  So at the end the map was covered from coast to coast with the characters, giving them a better idea of distance and placing.   B was able to see and able to compare Colorado, Texas, and Alabama and their unique proximity to each landmark.  B also went on to tell me what was N,E,S, and W of us.

Finally, I had the kids sit down and just draw our home in the first circle.

It was a fun introduction to a week of great concepts!

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Josh Wrenn says:

    This is why I love homeschooling. Make learning fun!!!

    Like

    1. Man, it’s an absolute blast, and really helps my sanity when the kids have a bit more structure!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

