Geography Day 3: My State

Objectives:

  • Students will identify contributions of patriots and good citizens who have shaped the community.
  • Students will identify contributions of historical figures.
  • Student will identify the flag of their state.
  • Students will recognize and understand the Symbols of their state.
  • Students will be able to read and locate their state on a map of the U.S.

Preparation:

  • Pictures of the state symbols  (I just saved them in the order I wanted to present them in my iPad’s Camera Roll)
  • Pictures of the founders of your state. (I just saved them in the order I wanted to present them in my iPad’s Camera Roll)
  • Create a color sheet with an outline of your state, the name of it, and several of the state symbols, including the state flag.
  • A pre-cut circle of construction paper from the first day labeled “My State” or the name of the state.
  • Print out an outline of the US, and an outline of your state that is small enough to fit on the circle together.

The Introduction:  Taking the rocket symbolizing our town off of the map I asked the kids to show me where Alabama was.  I then had them utilize the cardinal directions to tell me where Alabama was in relation to random points of interest.  The kids used a light saber to point and interact with the map, which they found incredibly exciting.

The Presentation- I sat the kids in a circle around my iPad once more as I scrolled through the camera roll reading off the summary of Alabama’s ancient history and state symbols.   I put a large amount of emphasis on the actual annex of Alabama into the United States, this would set way into a lesson not only on location, but also history.

The kids loved the symbols the most, and I had them choose their favorite symbols of Alabama.  B loved that our mineral was Hematite, since it turned from metallic gray to red when ground up.   Lil A referred to everything as her favorite.

Explore & Create:  The kids colored and cut out and glued the map of Alabama and the map of the US onto the pre-cut circle labeled for our state.   I had them also draw the Alabama flag, pretty easy considering it’s just a big red “X” on a white background.

The kids loved even more coloring the worksheet I created.

Tips from the Trade:  As you can see in the featured photo…B rushed through his again.  It’s a habit I thought would be impossible to break, and to be honest if I hadn’t gone back to look at his work from the beginning of the summer and compared it to the end of the summer, the change was so gradual I would have told you it had been no use.   But honestly the quality of work B produced is like night and day after a tad bit of patience and repetition.

Save bits of work from every week, and review them bi-monthly.   Check for trends or habits in the student’s work so you can target struggle areas.   Also check them for progress, because sometimes when you feel at a loss, you don’t realize all the good that has been done.

 

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

