You must Believe to Receive

There is a magic to Christmas a sort of whimsical wonder that extends to the world of tooth fairy’s and Easter Bunny’s, these mythical characters instilled a sense of wonder in them.

Santa was an enigma as well as a blessing to my childhood.   I was fascinated with his magical world of flying reindeer, omniscient vision, and miraculous triumphs through the chimney’s.   I knew my parents did not have much, and in that I was thankful for Santa, he was a sign of hope for greater bigger things.  I may have never received the drum set or the pin ball machine I always dreamed of, but I never quit wishing and reaching for them.

But the real gift of Santa was not tactile, nor something that could wrapped in tinsel and bows, instead what Santa gave me was wonder.  I would ponder over Santa and his magic, I would piece together in my imagination the ways in which he achieved his magical feats.  Santa was not alone in these inspirations, the same went for all the characters of our childhood, oh that and magicians.  Santa made life exhilarating, something beyond incredibly.   He blended that pinch of glitter in my otherwise very difficult youth.  Even once I was told the truth, which I for a short time despised my parents for stealing that from me.  Until I realized they couldn’t steal my imagination and so I still chose to believe.  I needed wonder to hang on to when my father died, when mother cried, when my step-father would spontaneously scream out strings curses and insults.

Magic was my haven, and magic continued to help me grow.

“Imagination is more important than knowledge. For knowledge is limited to all we now know and understand, while imagination embraces the entire world, and all there ever will be to know and understand.” – Albert Einstein

My parents instilling the wonder of Christmas in me helped me to think beyond the typical realm of thoughts.   I was able to believe there were no boundaries, no lines, no obstacles untouchable.  This helped me in my school, my writing, and even more my career.  I am an out of the box thinker, something that comes from such a beautiful story simply told to me as a child.

I continue the tradition with my children, B in particular basks in the glory that is Santa, each year I hold my breath that his mother does not yet pop his bubble, poor kid needs a little magic in his life.  I strive to foster his imagination, something that has been difficult to pry him out of his shell of facts.

With my daughters, I want them to find the inspiration and joy in Christmas that I had the opportunity to.

I have ready many blogs of parents boasting on how they don’t believe in lying to their kids; selfishly robbing the kids of their own opportunity to experience the magic, to allow their imagination to expand.  Magic is necessary for the imagination, allow a little magic in.  It’s not lying if you believe in the magic of Christmas as well, I know I do.

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. painkills2 says:

    I would feel better if Christmas wasn’t all about gifts, but I don’t suppose there’s anything else that Santa could bring. Wouldn’t it be cool if Santa could just leave inspirational notes and stories, written specifically for each child and signed Love, Santa? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

